Today, the National Democratic Alliance government has confirmed that Amaravati is the capital city of Andhra Pradesh as of now. A member of Rajya Sabha GVL Narasimha Rao pointed out that there is a lot of disquietude over the capital of Andhra Pradesh and nobody knows what the capital is after the state government rescinded the 3 capitals legislation in the state assembly.

However, the Union Minister Nityananda Rai made clear that the decision on the capital belongs to the state and opined that the capital is Amaravati as per the information available. The Amaravati region was decided as capital by the TDP government after the bifurcation of the state. Later, the YSRCP came to power in 2019 elections and announced that it is setting up three capitals in the name of decentralisation of governance.

The farmers of Amaravati were upset with this move and has been progressing the movement ever since. However, YSRCP government has withdrawn the three capital bills in the last November.

YSRCP leader Vijaysai Reddy asked if the government can speed up the division of assets worth Rs 1,42,601 crore listed under the scheduled 9 and 10 of the A.P Reorganisation Act. Anyway, the Andhra Pradesh government wants to divide these assets according to the population, while Telangana wants it based on the location.

The Home Ministry gives direction regularly to mutually agree to resolve the issue under schedule 9 or 10 or other issues. He further said that there can be a decision on this based on mutual agreement. He also mentioned that the centre has released Rs 35,370 crore to Andhra Pradesh and Rs 2385 crore to Telangana after state bifurcation in 2014.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here